Rwanda is a land locked country situated in central Africa and also known as " the land of a thousand hills." It is called so due to the many hills and mountains making the biggest percentage of Rwanda's relief. Rwanda Tourism board (R.D.B) spear heads most of the tourism activities in Rwanda on behalf of the government.

Rwanda has five volcanoes known as Visoke, karisimbi, Sabyinyo, Gahinga and Karisoke- the listed volcanoes are dormant but part of virunga ranges.

Rwanda has twenty -three lakes and numerous rivers, some forming the source of the Nile. The country lies 75 miles south of the equator in the tropic of Capricon, 880 miles " as crow flies" west of the Indian ocean and 1250 miles east of the Atlantic ocean- literally in the heart of Africa. Rwanda with a land area of 26338 Km2, is bordered by Uganda to the North, Tanzania to the East, Burundi to the south, and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west.

Rwanda tourism is based mainly on the three National park namely Volcanoes National park (home of mountain gorillas, Golden monkeys, birds, butterflies and so on), Nyungwe Forest National Park which is known for protecting Chimpanzees, olive Baboon, Vervet monkey, Mona monkey, Grey checked mangabey, owl-faced monkey, Red Tailed monkey, Blue Monkey, Angola colobus monkey, L'Hoest Monkey among others primates.

As far as tourism is concerned, much revenue is obtained from mountain Gorilla sales and each gorilla permit is sold at US$ 750.  This is followed by Chimpanzee sales at $ 90 each permit, then golden monkey sales at $ 100 each permit, colobus monkey sales at $ 75, Dian Fossey tomb at $ 75 per person, canopy walk at $ 75 per person, bird watching at 75 per person among others.